Sign, sign, everywhere a sign….

I believe in signs.    I think they are the universe’s way of telling you what you are supposed to do.     You just have to pay attention to them, get rid of the fear (OMG, I’m going to do what?) and just do it.

The signs have been pointing me to Food is a Journey (I’ll get to what it’s all about in a minute – bear with me).    And now that I look back – I haven’t paid attention to a lot of them.   Recently though, they seem to be smacking me upside the head.

I’m a stay at home mom to Grant, who is five.  When he entered Kindergarten this fall it prompted a gazillion “what are you going to do with all your time?” questions.   First let me clarify, I’ve gained a whopping 5 hours a week over the preschool schedule.  But it was enough to make me start thinking it might be time to starting focusing on something outside of Momma Land.

I knew whatever my next step was – it would involve food in some way.   You see, I LOVE to cook and am rather passionate (or maybe even obsessive) about food.   My family knows it (and some of them think I’m weird), my friends know it (and they KNOW I’m weird), and most of all, Grant knows it.    What I didn’t realize is that my reach was already going a little further.

I was talking to my friend the other day and she relayed a conversation she and her 5 year old daughter had at the grocery store.    My friend was picking up KIND Bars (which I LOVE) and her daughter raised an eyebrow and asked, “Did Alicia tell you to buy that?”  After having a good laugh, my friend had to know what in the 5 year old mind had prompted the question and asked, “Yes, she did.  Why do you ask?”  The reply was “She’s always talking about good food and what’s healthy and what’s not.”   Wow, ok I guess I do talk a lot about food!  Whack – another sign.

I had played around in my mind the idea of doing a blog  – but I wasn’t sure where to start or if I really wanted to do it.  Then the universe smacked me in the head again.   I was surfing through all the latest posts on Facebook when I saw one of my favorite food blogs was looking for a PT assistant to help with emails and Pinterest.  I got really excited.   After getting Grant on the bus, I spent close to an hour pouring my heart into why I loved food and why she should hire me into a web form.    Then my computer hiccuped and I lost it all.    After a few choice expletives that sent the dog running outside, I took a minute to think.   Is what I really want to be doing is monitoring someone else’s message?  What about the one I have?   After a phone call with a dear friend who told me “do you really think that would be the best use of your talents?” I knew what I had to do.   I had to start Food is a Journey.

Then Grant picked The Lorax for movie night and this quote drove it all home.

“Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, 
Nothing is going to get better. It’s not.”  
                                                                  Dr. Seuss, The Lorax

Now that I’ve got all that out, I’ll get to the premise of what I hope to accomplish through Food is a Journey.

You see, I REALLY believe that food is a journey.    Just like life.    Our stories can be told as much so, and sometimes more by what we put on our tables.   Everyone has different likes and dislikes based on their personal tastes, heritage and upbringing.   We all have varying levels of cooking skills and food/nutritional knowledge.    I realize and respect that.    I’m also a huge believer in the fact that knowledge is power – especially, when it comes to food.

Through a series of medical issues (which you’ll hear more about later), I have found that what I put in my body has a SIGNIFIGANT impact on my health.   The doctors have come to classify me as a “sensitive.”  Basically this means that my body tends to rebel if anything artificial is put into it.   Unfortunately it took three miserable years, lots of tests, two misdiagnosises and finally a trip to Mayo Clinic to figure this out.

During my three year struggle, I knew there had to be better answers than the ones I was getting.   Now I’m not saying I was smarter than the doctors but at the core of my being I knew the answers I was getting weren’t the right ones.   So I started researching and have pretty much never stopped.    I would love to be able to tell you that my household is on a 100% organic, GMO (Genetically Modified Organism) free, real food diet.   That’s my goal, where we are headed, but our journey hasn’t brought us that far yet.

Through Food is a Journey I will share with you what I know and what I learn every day.   My Mum keeps saying, “I’d never know this stuff if you didn’t tell me” or “I never try something new until you push me.”   Well Mum, this is for you and all the other people I love (and those of you I don’t know yet) who I know want to make changes but think it’ll be to hard or simply don’t know where to start.   I’ll share recipes and insights, propose challenges, and hopefully get you “out of the package”.

© Alicia Myers Leifheit and FoodisaJourney.com, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Alicia Myers Leifheit and FoodisaJourney.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

4 thoughts on “Sign, sign, everywhere a sign….

  1. Hi Alicia,

    As a whole food, plant based eater, I’m curious to learn more about your journey, and whether it’ll lead to where mine has lead. I decided to go “all the way” over a year ago, and I can only tell you that the results are amazing.

    But we’re here to listen to you. Best of luck with your blog.

    Carlos

  2. Super excited for follow Food is a Journey! I realize I am probably Alicia’s most unhealty friend but I know she loves me and over the years she has help bring changes into my food world (no matter how small). It’s a long road that I wouldn’t want to travel it with anyone else.

  3. “Cereals naturally make man peaceful. This simple principle is enshrined in the calligraphy “wa”. “Wa”, the word for “peace” is formed from the ideograms for “cereal” and “mouth.” By putting cereals into our mouths we become peaceful! Man’s happiness in the future will depend on this and nothing else.”- Michio Kushi

    Congrats on leaning into the challenge of a new and meaningful endeavor, Alicia.
    May this first step of your journey begin with a bite of cereal, so that we, your readers, can rest assured there will always be a “grain” of truth running through your words.

    Toward peace and happiness,

    Andy

  4. Hi Alicia,

    Congratulations on your food blog. I’m excited to follow along!! Since my kids have all flown the nest I have not been doing as much in the kitchen. Hopefully you will inspire me!!

    Can’t believe Grant is in Kindergarten!!!

    xoxo, Lori

Leave a Reply

