Blueberry Bliss French Toast

DSC_4179

Doesn’t this sound fancy?  Well, it couldn’t be more simple.

Simple is what I needed yesterday morning.     I had gone to bed early  (ok, fell asleep on the couch) and was the first one up.    Reveling in the glory of a quiet house, I snuck downstairs,  fixed a pot of coffee and fed the dog (there’s no peace until you do).

Before the coffee was done brewing my sleepy eye 5-year old, Grant, rambled into the kitchen and proclaimed he wanted cartoons.    With a deep sigh, I sent him back upstairs to find his Dad.   Oh how I had longed for a quiet morning to sit and read in the seldom seen Pacific Northwest sun.

Well, I got it.   Grant went back upstairs, crawled into bed with his dad and they both slept for 2 more hours.  BLISS!

I sat in the sun, sipped my coffee, crunched on a crisp apple and finished reading a novel.     The end of a book always brings a great sense of satisfaction for me.   I love when I have a few minutes to sit and contemplate.

This morning though, I wasn’t thinking about the book.    I was thinking about how good it felt to have 2 hours of interrupted time to myself and ALLOWING myself to do what I wanted to do.    It’s all too often that I let my to-do list dictate what I do with my  kid-free time.    Sound familiar?

I told you I’d give you a challenge each week.   Here’s the first one:

CHALLENGE 1:   Take an hour this week to do whatever it is that brings you bliss.   (or get REALLY crazy and take an hour a day)

It’s guaranteed  to make you smile.  Smiles = healthy!

And in honor of this, Grant got one of his favorite Sunday breakfasts.   French Toast.

Blueberry Bliss French Toast

It’s easiest to start the syrup first and let it cook down while you make your French Toast

for the French Toast
6 pieces 100% whole grain bread (gluten free works too!)
4 eggs (preferably organic, free range)
1 Tbsp Ground Cinnamon
Butter for pan

In a low, flat dish (like a small glass casserole) crack your eggs, whisk them up, then wisk in the cinnamon.  DSC_4164 Soak your bread in the egg mix until it soaks up the egg mixture, flip and duplicate for other side of bread.  You want your bread soaked through, but not soggy.   (How long this takes depends on the variety and freshness of the bread.)   Preheat your griddle.  Once hot, give it a quick once over with a stick of butter.    Cook each piece of toast 1-2 minutes a side until nicely browned.  Top with Blueberry sauce.

for Blueberry Syrup (start before French toast)
2 cups frozen blueberries (preferably organic)
2 Tbsp Pure Maple Syrup (preferably organic, should read 100% Pure on the label)

Place frozen blueberries and maple syrup in a small sauce pan over medium heat.    Bring to a boil.

DSC_4166

Reduce heat and simmer until French Toast is done. Spoon over French Toast and ENJOY!DSC_4183

© Alicia Myers Leifheit and FoodisaJourney.com, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Alicia Myers Leifheit and FoodisaJourney.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

One thought on “Blueberry Bliss French Toast

Leave a Reply

