Balsamic Roasted Red Cabbage

DSC_4093Cabbage is one of those veggies I didn’t eat as a kid.     I don’t know that it was ever even fixed in our house.   Maybe in the rare cole slaw, but I seem to remember eating that out of little styrofoam containers. So when I got a full head of red cabbage in my farm box  I was feeling serious underwhelmed.    I try desperately to use everything that comes.    It’s a good exercise in being creative and stretching our palate outside it’s normal limits.     But I was REALLY hesitant about what I could do with this cabbage.    The only thing that came to mind was fish tacos and since I’m the only person who eats fish in the house…. well, I knew it was time to hit Pinterest. After doing a bit of oogling, I came upon the theory of roasting it.    Roasting is probably my favorite thing to do with veggies.   You add some olive, oil, garlic, salt and pepper and it’s pretty much a win in my house. So here it is! Balsamic Roasted Red Cabbage Adapted from Family Friendly Food 1 head red cabbage, chopped 1 large red onion, chopped 3-5 cloves fresh garlic, diced (we LOVE garlic) a couple glugs of olive oil (estimated at 3-4 tbsp) Sea Salt Fresh Ground Pepper 1/4 to 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar (more = stronger taste, we love the stuff) Preheat your oven to 375 degrees. Chop the cabbage in half, then in quarters – then cut out the core from each piece. DSC_4096 Rough chop the quarters into about 1” pieces.    Throw the cabbage into your biggest rectangular pyrex.   Rough chop the onion and throw that on top of the cabbage.   Dice the garlic and throw that on top.   Sprinkle with salt and pepper to season.   Give it a glug of olive oil. DSC_4100 Stir it all up.   You want enough olive oil to have a light covering on everything.   If not,  give it a bit more and stir again.    Drizzle on your balsamic and give it a good stir.   Roast for 40-50 minutes, stirring about half way through. And here’s what you get! DSC_4108 Not only is this GEORGOUS, it tastes wonderful! This makes a big pan.    It was great as leftovers, I even ate it cold (but I can be weird like that). Note:  the recipe I based this one on calls for sugar to be added for sweetness.   I think the onions add plenty – but feel free to add a couple teaspoons of agave for the last 20 minutes if you like it extra sweet. © Alicia Myers Leifheit and FoodisaJourney.com, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Alicia Myers Leifheit and FoodisaJourney.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

7 thoughts on “Balsamic Roasted Red Cabbage

  1. Pingback: Challenge #3 – Eat Scary Veggies « Food is aJourney

  2. Pingback: Balsamic Roasted Red Cabbage | One Fit Widow

  3. Pingback: Fall CSA Week 4 | Suncrest Gardens Farm

  4. Pingback: CrossFit Warrior Spirit | Roasted Red Cabbage

Leave a Reply

