Holiday Overwhelm

After having a sick kid for the better part of the last 2 weeks (and who’s still really needy), I’m slowly attempting to get caught up on everything since Thanksgiving.DSC_4440

I feel like pulling my hair out or sitting down and crying (depending on the moment).  My house feels like it’s exploded.    It’s a hysterical mix of nothing getting done because of a sick kid and Christmas decorating in progress.    As I sit in my office typing the only visible space on my desk is what’s required for the mouse.    Time for a deep breath.    (Insert audible inhale and exhale here.)

Am I the only one?   Doubtful.    I think we all need to take a deep breath and look at what we are doing for the holidays and what REALLY needs to be done.

I was reminded today Colbie Caillat’s song “Happy Christmas” what the holiday season is really supposed to be all about.    Giving, Caring, Sharing, Being Selfless, Friends and Family.     ( A huge shout out to the hubby who hooked me up with slew of Christmas music!)

I’m taking a minute to make a pledge.

I will not try to remake all of my cookies recipes Gluten Free this year.   I will pick one favorite and try a couple new  (and already tested) from other bloggers I love.

I will sit in front of the fire and read Christmas books daily with Grant.

I will search for a volunteer opportunity that we can do as a family.   It’s time for Grant to learn not everyone is as lucky as him.

I will make sure to take my Vitamin D every day to ward of the grumpiness from the grey.

I will slow down enough to enjoy the magic of the holidays through the eyes of my son.

I could go on and on.    But putting it out there for the world sort of helps hold you accountable.   If you don’t hear from me quite as often this month, you’ll know why .

My Challenge for you this week is a simple one.   Slow down and ENJOY the holiday season this week (and beyond!)   A family snuggle in front of the tree with egg nog anyone?

© Alicia Myers Leifheit and FoodisaJourney.com, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Alicia Myers Leifheit and FoodisaJourney.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

3 thoughts on “Holiday Overwhelm

  1. Thank you so much for coming and following my blog so I could find yours. I’m already a fan..this was such a beautiful post and really hits the nail on the head. I agree..we can too often be on the go all the time, myself included. I find myself catching to slow down and just be with my baby girl and not worry about everything else. I love everything you mentioned. I love what you said about teaching your son not everybody is as lucky as him. Thank you!

    • Thanks Brandi! Isn’t it funny how we foodies seem to find each other. I can’t wait to try the chocolate chip cookies made with the pecan butter. If they are as yummy as I think they will be – I’ll share pics with my followers and link back to your site for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

